Please activate Javascript !


The Hathapradipika or Hathayoga Pradipika (Sansk. Haṭhapradīpikā) is besides the Yogasutras of Patanjali and alongside the Gheranda Samhita and the Shiva Samhita the most famous classical yoga treatise.

It was written in the fourteenth century by Swami Svatmarama, who refers to the predecessors Matsyendra and Goraksha.

The commentator Brahmananda wrote an extensive commentary called Jyotsna (light, enlightenment) to the Hathapradipika.


The book consists of 634 verses and covers four main themes (Adhyaya's).

It begins with: Greetings to Shiva, who carefully laid down the knowledge of Hatha Yoga, which leads the ascendent as on a staircase to the highest goals of Raja Yoga.

  • 1. Asanas(Swastika-asana , Gomukha-asana ,Virasana,Kurmasana,Kukkuta-asana,Uttana Kurma-asana, Dhanura-asana, Matsya-asana, Paschima Tana, Mayura-asana, Sava-asana, Siddhasana, Padmasana, Simhasana, Bhadrasana), Yama, Niyama

16 : Seriousness, fearlessness, perseverance, truthfulness, knowledge and trust; quitting of superficial sociality, through these six (virtues) yoga is achieved.

17 : Yama and Niyama: non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, acting in the consciousness of a higher ideal, forgiving, tolerance, empathy, honesty, humility and hygiene are truly Yama.

18: Self-discipline, satisfaction, faith, charity, respect, source study, moderation, prudence, learning of texts and sacrifice, are the ten Niyamas recognized by yoga scholars

  • 2. Shatkriyas and Pranayamas (Dhauti, Basti, Neti, Trataka, Nauli, Kapala Bhati, Surya Bhedana, Ujjayi, Sitkari, Sitali, Bhastrika, Bhramari, Murchha, Plavini)
  • 3. Kundalini, Bandhas and Mudras(Maha Mudra, Maha Bandha, Maha Vedha, Kechari Uddiyana Bandha, Jalandhara Bandha, Viparita Karani, Vajroli, Sahajoli, Amaroli, Sakti Chalana)
  • 4. Mudras and Samadhi(Sambhavi Mudra, Unmani Trataka, Kechari Mudra, Ghata Avastha, Parichaya Avastha, Nada)

The Hathayoga-Pradipika (4.93) recommends meditation on the inner tone (nada), a practice derived from the vocal language of the Sama-Veda.

Raja yoga, samadhi, unmani, manonmani, amaratva, laya, tatva, sunya, asunya, parama pada, amanaska, advaita, niralamba, niranjana, jivanmukti, sahaja and turiya denote the same state of being.
Just as with salt dissolved in water becomes one with it, so the union of Atman and Manas (mind) is denominated samadhi; when the breath becomes exhausted, and the mind becomes Praliyate (still, reabsorbed), they fuse into union called samadhi.
This equality, this oneness of the two, the living self and the absolute self, when all Sankalpa (desire, cravings) end is called samadhi.  (Hatha Yoga Pradipika, 4.3 - 4.7)

== Literature ==

  • HathaYogaPradipika PDF
  • Hatha Yoga Pradipika - tr. by Pancham Sinh [1914] -online
  • Hatha Yoga Pradipika Pancham Sinh Sans-en
  • Hathayogapradipika, with the Commentary Jyotsna of Brahmananda and English Translation, Madras: Adyar Library and Research Centre, 1984
  • The Hathayogapradipika, 1972 Jyotsna of Brahmananda, Motilal Banarsidass, 1972, ISBN-10: 8185141371 ISBN-13: 978-8185141374



  • The Universal Doctrine
  • The Universal Path of Spirituality
  •  Copyright 2018

Die deutsche Version dieser Seite (german site)

       Powered by Typesetter CMS

3 Visitors online currently