Devi Bhagavatam


The Devi Bhagavata Purana (Sanskrit: देवी भागवतपुराण, Devī Bhāgavatapurāṇa) or (Shrimad) Devi Bhagvatam  is a Sanskrit text that belongs to the Purana-genre of Hindu literature.

The text is considered a Mahapurana (major Purana) in parts of India, while others include it as one of the Upapurana (minor Purana), but all traditions consider it as an important Purana. The text consists of twelve sections (skandha) with 318 chapters.

The underlying philosophy  is Advaita Vedanta-style monism combined with devotional worship of Shakti. Along with Devi Mahatmya, it is one of the most important works in Shaktism.

The text centers around Sri Devi  and Maheshvari as the primordial divinities.

* Books 1 to 6 deal about Mythology :

Book 1 states all of reality was initially nirguna. However this nirguna - reality was a Bhagavati (woman), and she manifested herself as three Shaktis - Sattviki,  Rajasi and Tamasi.

* Book 2 introduces in the key characters which appear in remaining books of the Purana.

* Book 3 begins a discussion of the Devi and her bhakti, how the Devi created from herself the three Tridevi: Maha-saraswati , Maha-lakshmi and Maha-kali . It further presents legends from the Ramayana.

* Book 4 presents further legends inclusive legends of interaction between Krishna and Shiva. It deals with tantric themes and presents yoga meditation.

* Book  5 deals about the fights of Durga against Mahiasura and other demons, as also mentioned in the Durga Saptashati und in the Devi Mahatmya.

* Book 6 contains further legends. The deal about the treatment of problems of male gods by the Devi. The masculine deities are presented as subordinate and as dependent on the Devi.

* Book 7 deals with pilosophy and describes the Ashtanga - Yoga.  It contains the Devi-Gita which presents the divine female as a powerful and compassionate creator, pervader and protector of the universe. Therefore it deals about Bhakti. Tamasic Bhakti is one, asserts the text, where the devotee prays because he is full of anger, seeks to harm others, induce pain or jealousy to others. Rajasic Bhakti is one where the devotee prays not to harm others, but to gain personal advantage, fame or wealth. Sattvic Bhakti is the type where the devotee seeks neither advantage nor harm to others but prays to purify himself, renounce any sins and surrender to the ideas embodied as Goddess to liberate himself. It adds Para Bhakti as the highest level of devotion.

* Book 8 of the Devi-Bhagavata Purana incorporates one of the five requirements of Puranic-genre of Hindu texts and therefore a theory of the geography of the earth, planets and stars, the motion of sun and moon, and an explanation of time and of the Hindu calendar

* Book 9 is similar in structure and content of the Prakriti-kanda of the Brahmavaivarta Purana.

* Book 10  deals about the cosmos and manavantaras

* Book 11 deals about Sadachara (virtues) and Dharma

* Book 12 The godess as Adya Shakti (primordial power) and the essence of the Gayatri mantra



   Archive : Devi Bhagavatam